Video Files as Content

Discussion of experiences, problems & solutions for the Saba 5.x Learning Module

Moderator: Forum moderators

Video Files as Content

Postby Krixquet » Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:02 am

Hello all. I am a Saba Administrator working in a hosted environment on 5.3. I am rather new to Saba and am trying to identify some best practices and how to's with video.

Currently, our organization used Centra or Camtasia recordings to train. We are now implementing the use of e-Learning and converting many videos to WBT or inserting them as content to an offering.

I have a few questions:
1. What is the best way to attach video as content to a course or offering?
Since most video files are large, should the video be added as a zip file or just a file.

>> when I attempted to add it as a zip file (content format), I received an error. So, I am not sure if I am not zipping it correctly or if this is not the way to add video as content.

>> when I attempted to add it as a file (content format), it worked;however the download time was awful (2.8 MB file for a 3-5 minute video)

2. If someone has successfully added video as content, what are some tips or tricks to reduce the size of the video without loosing too much quality (lossy)? Is there a software program that can squeeze or reduce file sizes?

Any feedback or recommendations on the matter would be great.

Thanks so much.
Krixquet
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Postby Clif » Thu Apr 12, 2007 1:08 pm

According to the Content Administrator Guide regarding content format of Zip, "On import, Saba Content unpacks the ZIP file, deploys the contents to the specified content server, and sets up an access URL pointing to the specified start file." I'm not sure if this explains the error you get or not.

You said the download time was awful. What format is the file? What is your connection speed?